Letter J April A to Z Challenge #AtoZChallenge

Day 10 of the April A to Z Challenge and my these is characters from books I’ve read, plus a little audience participation piece.

Letter J is for John Steel from Rise Of A Phoenix by Phill Syron-Jones

Rise Of The Phoenix by Phill Syron-Jones

Rise Of The Phoenix by Phill Syron-Jones

 

Rise of a Phoenix is an exciting action thriller set in New York. It opens with kidnapping and a brutal murder. Homicide detective Samantha McCall and her team soon find themselves on the trail of a serial murderer.

Mixed with this is the exciting figure known by many names such as The Shadow, The Phoenix and The Lone Wolf. John Steel ex-Navy SEAL operative, joins the NYPD team whilst on his own search for Santini. The name behind a vicious past that drives Steel forward. Steel reminded me of James Bond at times as the action took off involving Russians, hired thugs, homeless men and an array of weaponry.

There are plenty of twists and turns and the storyline kept me enthralled until the end.

Find a copy here from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

For my audience participation I’d like you to think up book titles using the letter J for the picture below.

A book title and cover picture can often make or break a book sale. Is a book cover eye-catching? Does the book title appeal to the reader?

Have fun creating book titles from my own pictures, you might even think about a genre they could fit.

Iceland Seas

Leave your answers in the comments below and I’ll be choosing my favourites.

Here are some randomly chosen challenger bloggers for you to visit today.

http://www.thingsmymothertaught.com/

http://robertbreen.com.au/

http://iwantbacksies.blogspot.co.uk/

http://ramblinwitham.blogspot.co.uk/

http://www.generationgossip.com/

As part of the A to Z Challenge we ask readers to leave comments on blogs thank you.

Strip banner

39 thoughts on “Letter J April A to Z Challenge #AtoZChallenge

  1. Lots of chat yesterday on out letter I post and some great thinking of book titles, here are my favourites; Icarus, Innocent’s Red Admiral, In another Life, If a butterfly Flaps its wings, Impish delights, I never wanted to fly, Incredible innocence, impending flight and illicit flutter.

    Like

  2. Sorry I missed yesterday, Rosie. ON a research trip in Cornwall and Frenchman’s Creek beckoned. No sign of any hunky pirates, though. OK – back to J. This book sounds intriguing and I will check out the first three chapters on Amazon. As for your picture – I was down at the LIzard yesterday and could see why seascapes are so appealing. My book title would be – Django’s Jagged Journey. (the D is silent, so – am I allowed Django???)

    Like

  3. Jurassic Interludes ~
    Clara meets Gregory each day by the ancient rocks for a bit of mounting desire and arching bodies, in this bestselling Mills & Boon ~~~~

    Like

  4. Oh, now this does sound right up my street, anything remotely James Bond and add New York (one of my favourite spots on the planet) and I’m there. Great review, can feel the excitement!
    Book title: Jewel Pirate’s Cove …a treasure hunter and marine biologist are drawn to the cove for different reasons, one wants to save it, the other destroy it. Guess what? They fall in love. (Well, I do write romantic suspense!)

    Like

  5. This sounds like a great read and I fancy John Steel already. What about Jutting Jeopardy for Terry’s favourite genre silver erotica? I know, i know but I can’t stop 😀 😀

    Like

  6. I’m on the same wave length as you E – haha! I’d gone for Jutting Jags – am also still recovering from Terrys ‘most popular’ post!!

    I already have this book on my TBR list though – looks good!! 🙂

    Like

  7. Hi Rosie .. Rise of the Phoenix sounds like a book with a very good plot …

    I think a cover can deter one from reading a book – I’m sure I’ve been put off books .. I can’t think a suitable book title for your picture! Cheers Hilary

    Like

    • Thanks Hilary, A book cover in todays online buying market is very important, if all a reader has is a small picture no larger than a postage stamp, then visual messages have to be bright and clear to capture us as we glance over pages of books.

      Like

  8. John Steel has the perfect name for a hero. Today’s title: Journey to the Edge. Part one of the Black Rock trilogy in which five brave teens use their special powers save the world.

    Like

  9. Thank you for linking to my blog (ramblinwitham.blogspot.com). I do not ever do well on visual prompts. But I am going to give it a shot. Journey to J’rsy. Its a dystopian YA novel taking place in a future where much of the Earth has flooded and survivors are seeking safety in a dangerous journey.

    Like

  10. Thank you so much for the shout out! I have gotten several visitors on my “J” post thanks to you (naturally, it would be the wackiest thing I’ve probably ever posted, and I’ve written about hemorrhoid surgery before).
    I’m terrible at contests, but I will say that picture reminds me of the beginning of the old tv series “Dark Shadows,” which will date me.

    Like

  11. Kidnapping and brutal murder–just my cup of tea! (In fiction, anyway…)

    As for the book title, I’m going to go with non-fiction: “Jags and Juts: The 15 Worst Diving Spots on the Pacific Coast.”

    Like

Comments are closed.