Romancing September #RomancingSeptember – Day 11

Romance September 2014 cover (1)

Welcome to Day 11 of Romancing September Across The World Tour. Today our guest is Pamela Beckford. Catch up with more from Pamela in a few hours with the second part of our tour when Stephanie chats to her.

Love Lost and Found Bookcover

 

1. Where is your home town?
I was born and raised in a small town in northeast Indiana. I’m still here but dream of going somewhere much warmer someday.
 
2. How long have you been writing romance?
I’ve only been writing poetry for about 14 months. I have tried other types of poetry, but always find my way back to poems centered around love.
 
3. What is your favourite sub-genre of romance?
I don’t really have an answer for this.
 
4. How many poems are in your book?
There are over 90 poems in this collection. They represent over a dozen different poetry forms.
 
5. What poetry styles have you used?  
While I do some free style poems and a smattering of rhyming poems, I really like all the different poetry forms that have been created. I love how it makes me chooses just the perfect word to express the emotion I am trying to convey because I’m limited by just a few syllables. I really like the tanka, dodoitsu, acrostic, oddquain, cinquain, triquain and so many more. I have put a glossary of the poetry forms in the book at the back for the reader’s convenience. Plus, I do label each poem so the reader knows which form it is.
 
6. Will we need a box of tissues to read your book?
Probably not. But I do hear a lot that you may need to take a cold shower or fan yourself after reading them.
 
7. Your book had a gorgeous cover, who designed it?
Thank you. I had the concept in my head, but didn’t have the technical capability of creating what my mind’s eye was seeing. I called upon a friend to photoshop a few images together and then the graphic designer I use in my day job pulled the rest of the cover together. I think she did a fabulous job and I’m really pleased with the cover.
 
8. Tell us about your other book of love poems
Dreams of Love was my first attempt at self-publishing. It was a smaller collection (just about 30 poems) and I have learned so much since then. The poems contained within its covers are filled with angst and unrequited love, but also a love that transcends life. The first book has garnered some awesome reviews and I’m proud of my first book.
 
9. Tell us what you are working on at the moment.
I‘m always writing it seems. I find phrases and words that I write down because they speak to me. Later I go back and think about how to create something from a phrase. I post a new poem many days on my blog, but always have more that I hold back for a new book. I’m not exactly sure of the direction of this new collection yet, but I will decide on that in the next few weeks. I’m hoping to publish my next book before Valentine’s Day 2015.
 
10. Where can readers find out more about you?
Pamela Beckford

28 thoughts on “Romancing September #RomancingSeptember – Day 11

  1. I love that you “find phrases and words that I write down because they speak to me. Later I go back and think about how to create something from a phrase.” That’s fascinating. Best of luck with your book!

    Like

  2. Lovely cover. I started with poetry too. In fact there is a theory that suggests all authors should start their apprenticeship with poems and then advance to writing prose. Best of luck with your muse, Pamela!
    Reblogged the post on my page too.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Romancing September feature | Year 'Round Thanksgiving Project

  4. Nice to see you here, my lovely amiga! I love your answer to question #6, especially because I have personally experienced the need to fan myself and or take a cold shower after reading your beautiful words! I am forever amazed at your energy and ability to make your dreams, reality! 🙂

    Like

  5. Pamela, I’m full of admiration. Poetry is so difficult to get right, and you seem to have a that special talent. A lovely fresh voice and new talent for us to discover over here on the edge of Europe! Good luck with your book.

    Like

  6. That was a fun interview to read and I thought the cover was quite cute. I don’t read too much poetry. When I read it is generally a romance with sub-genre of Paranormal, Historical, Contemporary, etc. But when I have an opportunity an in the mood for something different then I usually read, I will read your collection of Poems to see how you express a phrase that has come to mind.

    Like

Comments are closed.