Good Deeds Year 2, week 5

Welcome to my second Year of Good Deeds, a challenge I set myself during April 2013. I decided to do at least one Good Deed a day for a whole year.

New Good DeedsThis week I’ve been doing the following;

May 18th – Any one who is now a regular follower of my Good Deeds will know that last week I read about a new challenge to make the world a better place to live in. “Speak Kind Words, Receive Kind Echoes” see the inspiration on  The Kindness blog . So me being me, I decided to give it a go, starting small I managed 24 hours, then moved on for another 24. I had a couple of wobbles in my first 24 hours and 3 failures today (For each slip up I’ll put a £1 in a jar for charity) First my Mum came over with all the gossip from the family, village and local community and that’s a BIG hazard for me, all that lovely gossip about people and their failings topped with a good moan about the family. I caught myself partaking in a bit of negative moaning – there goes a pound I thought, then another slipped off my tongue opps! Next I went and commented on an e-mail having another moan,  another pound in the pot. It’s certainly a challenge!

So whilst struggling with the new challenge I’m still doing the Good Deeds, gave books to Mum and Mother-in-law today. Went for a good walk this evening and picked up loads of litter.

May 19th – A morning helping out at school, then a lunchtime walk and litter picking. Ending the day with sending along cakes and biscuits for the hungry cricket mid-match snack. Kind comments all the way today but I did become very aware of a potential area where I can slip up. It’s easy to forget myself when I’m casually chatting and relaxing with the family and I need to be very mindful of my words.

May 20th – The lady I work with has had a shoulder operation, so today I got lots of paperwork out for her so she doesn’t have to lift heavy files when she returns to work tomorrow. This evening I had a long walk around a playing field and picked up litter. I managed another day of only kind words, it’s easy to fall into old habits without realising it. A couple of times I definitely had to turn comments.

May 21st – Met Alison Williams for a coffee today, she has been editing my book and guiding me in the right direction. Have put £2 in my charity pot for my failures on the “Kind Words” challenge during our meeting. (Mentally noted the stumbling block I need to work on) Good Deeds received Alison kindly paid for my beverage.

May 22nd – Finished reading A Woman’s Choice by Annie Thomas and sent of my review. Annie is kindly going to take part in a guest author interview for us in June. I’m finding my kindness challenge really hard to change my old bad habits, but I’m going to keep going.

May 23rd – Am reading an ARC of The Lost Centurion by Monica La Porta. This book is due for release at the end of May. Sent a thank you letter. Agreed to read and review The Birr Elixir by Jo Sparkes.

May 24th – Sent off my review of The Lost Centurion and moved on to reading Fallen For Rock by Nicky Wells. Today I posted a piece about book genres on the blog and opened up a discussion on what you feel about the Young Adult and New Adult genres, click here to join in. http://wp.me/p2Eu3u-5dq

My book review today was for Alone in Berlin by Hans Fallada. Hailed as a modern classic this book reveals a resistance inside Berlin during the war years. I posed a question for the readers on this post too. From what you know and have read about the war years, can you believe that people were fighting from within? Click here to read more http://wp.me/p2Eu3u-55M

My kind words challenge is definitely easier when I don’t meet many people, so I’m obviously more successful when I’m relaxed at home with the family. My challenges seem to be when I’m with extended family, friends and new acquaintances. I need to think about if this is because I portray a slightly different persona amongst them? One where I act how I think they expect me to, or I act to a formula which has previously proved popular?

So what do you think about this new challenge, am I asking too much of myself?

18 thoughts on “Good Deeds Year 2, week 5

  1. Hi Rosie, I’m smiling as I write this! Being on one’s own and away from gossip inter alia makes it easier! But that is surely the challenge – to be with people and adopt different personas is what life is about – and still maintain kindness. You can do it – you’re more aware and mindful …
    Loved this post thank you! And have a great day! I’ll be doing my litter story today. The other day I picked up a can of Red Bull, and saw a few people in the grounds where I live – I’m sure they thought I was walking around drinking Red Bull! I did not disabuse them! Merely nodded greetings ..

    Like

  2. Personlly Rosie I’d allow you the negative thought when you’re on your own and just penalise yourself if something slips out in company. I’m not sure I could cope with a Saint for a friend however glam. xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  3. Small amounts of kindness go a long way. Positive thoughts rather than negative thoughts become a self fulfilling prophesy and life is just better. But, I also recognize that there are down days for everyone and there are pessimists and optimists. I am the latter but some days are just tougher than other days. Kindness doesn’t cost a thing and is priceless.

    Like

  4. It must be so hard not to participate in the gossip, but you’ve given me a good reminder of what I often do but shouldn’t unless it is kind. You are working very hard on your good deeds, and I congratulate you. Don’t be too hard on yourself. And with regard to your book reviews, how DO you read so quickly and comprehensively?

    Like

    • Thanks Noelle. Glad my little challenge makes you think. As to reading, well, I hardly watch any TV nor read newspapers, both time consuming. I also read everywhere; in the bath, as a car passenger and every night, usually for several hours. It helps that I love reading.

      Like

  5. As far as the kind word challenge I don’t think you are asking too much of yourself in the challenge per se. To feel badly when you have unkind thoughts is asking too much of yourself. Let’s face it. There are people in this world who give few reasons for kindness. Your challenge should be modified to the point of feeling good for not saying unkind thoughts out loud. Once accomplished the next step will be to work on the thoughts.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Week 53 of good deeds | wordsthatserve

  7. This is such a beautiful post Rosie, so much wisdom and awareness. I’m deeply touched. especially by the question about whether or not you put on a different persona for different people. This challenge is clearly having a profound impact already, as least it feels like it to me reading about your week. Blessings on your great courage and kindness dear friend. Hugs, Harula xxx

    Like

Comments are closed.