🌼Flowers Are Popping Open In My #Hampshire Garden For This Week’s #SixOnSaturday Post. #GardeningTwitter #GardeningAddict

This week we have seen high winds, cool nights and sunny spells. I am at that stage when I am eager to get everything out into the garden, but it’s all a bit of a risk. Is anyone else feeling similar?

Let’s get started.

The Kolkwitzia is about to burst into a fluffy cloud of pink blooms.

Aquilegia – grown from seed last year, so I had to wait a year for them to flower. Not a perfect specimen, but pretty. It was shy and stood with its head down and away from the camera (a bit like me then!). I know that they self-seed once they get going.

The Alium (in last week’s six) are now into their full heads. The foxgloves (seen behind) will soon be out.

Purple Bugle – bit of a weed to some gardeners, I suspect, but they are enjoyed by the visiting bees.

The first of the red Peonies is out. This one had a tiny spider hiding in the petals.

Last photo is of a pink (ordinary) Weigela, as opposed to last week’s variegated one.

Join me tomorrow when I will be interviewing Fred about his garden in the first of a series I have planned to highlight a selection of fellow Six On Saturday gardeners and their gardens. Do drop me a line below in the comments if anyone would like to take part. But forgive me if I stalk you at a later date with a request 😉

Thank you for joining me for this #SixOnSaturday post. I hope that you enjoyed it. Jim is now our host for this gardening meme and you can find his blog here where you will be able to catch up with links from all the other folks who take part.

Happy gardening

Rosie

34 thoughts on “🌼Flowers Are Popping Open In My #Hampshire Garden For This Week’s #SixOnSaturday Post. #GardeningTwitter #GardeningAddict

  1. How exquisite your garden is at this time of year! Sorry to hear about your windy days. That aquilegia is really superb, you are so clever to grow her from seed. I haven’t grow them in many years. I will have to get myself a packet of seed!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have very few plants left to go out, just some seedlings in the cold frame, Rosie. I’ve been potting on dahlias today (in the rain!) and I’m afraid they’ll have to take their chances with the weather now, so I do understand you’re hesitant to put everything out – it’s better to be safe than hit an unexpected frost. Mine have only been evicted from their warm shelter because we’re going away.
    Lovely to see your peony in bloom, and your alliums are looking good! I rather like your Weigela too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve not taken the plunge and planted anything out yet, but looking at the forecast for the next week I should be safe to do so.
    Very pretty aquilegia and I’ve found that they do seed around so hopefully you’ll have plenty in a year or too. I love the red peony too – gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.