🐞Mini Beasties And Flowers From My English Country Garden for #SixOnSaturday #Gardening #Flowers

Another dry and hot week with temperatures rising well above what is comfortable for a British summer.

Own photo for
July 16th Six On Saturday

Nature does her thing and I keep watering the garden. Six on Saturday, let’s go!

Photo one is this lovely lemon coloured Valentine Sunflower. Small flowers but the colour is lovely.

Own photo of Sunflower Valentine
Sunflower Valentine

Photo two is of some of the pretty Sweetpeas. These I grew from last year’s saved seed, I don’t remember this deep maroon last year, but maybe I wasn’t watching so closely as this year.

Own photo of Sweetpeas
Sweetpeas

Third photo is of a Ladybird pupa. I spotted several of these in a variety of orange and red colours, along side mating Ladybirds on my purple Buddleja. The photo is a bit blurry as I was balancing on things to get a closer look.

Own photo of a Ladybird Pupa
Ladybird Pupa

Fourth photo is of this Monarda. My neighbour gave me this last year when she was dividing her own plants. I split mine in two and already have two growing.

Own photo of Monarda
Monarda

Fifth photo is of a toad, which came to say hello when I was watering the bean pot. I saw this one or one similar in a flower bed a couple of weeks ago. He’s sitting in the drip tray and was hiding under a small leaf. I gave him a larger leaf and an upturned pot around the back of the pot for extra shade on these hot days. I really must move up my garden pond plans.

Own photo of a toad
Toad

Last photo is of this white Buddleja. I love it’s honey scent, but I rarely see bees or butterflies on it. I see them on the purple one more often.

Own photo of white Buddleja
White Buddleja

Thank you for joining me for this #SixOnSaturday post. I hope that you enjoyed it. If you would like to know more about this hashtag, read founder Mr Propagator’s post here also find him on Twitter here.

Happy gardening

Rosie

Own photo for
July 16th Six On Saturday

Links:

  1. Mr P’s linky for all your posts.
  2. More from Fred’s garden.
  3. A very pretty dahlia in Graeme’s garden.
  4. Flowers for cutting on My Secret Garden’s blog.
  5. 30 days wilding – paddling pools and flowers.

30 thoughts on “🐞Mini Beasties And Flowers From My English Country Garden for #SixOnSaturday #Gardening #Flowers

  1. I love the toad story! I stayed in a hotel in Sri Lanka once where a tiny frog turned up in the bathroom. It was semi open air and a bit rustic, and he liked the small puddle of water that formed behind the leaky basin tap. He was so cute, a perfect miniature creature. I was sorry to say goodbye to him. 🐸

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 🐞Mini Beasties And Flowers From My English Country Garden for #SixOnSaturday #Gardening #Flowers - Us Viral Trending

  3. I have a frog in one of my large containers by the back door, each time I water it, he jumps out at me, got used to him now, though it was a shock the first time! You have made me realise that I must sow some sunflowers for next year.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So much goodness (except for the too hot weather, maybe)! I must get some monarda in the garden. Yours is just lovely. (looks similar to The Propagator’s) Also, isn’t it great to use seeds from the previous year to bring more goodness to the garden? I love it when that happens! and I love sweet pea.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The monarda looks wonderful. Everytime I visit your blog I want some sunflowers! Love them and the Buddliea, interesting about the purple, I thought bees liked purple white and yellow flowers? Maybe the purple tastes better.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Such lovely colours and beasties! 🐞 Love your beautiful white buddlea and your garden mirror. I can almost smell the buddleas sweet scent.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.