A Boy Named Rabbit by @MarciaMeara #Bookreview #Contemporary #Paranormal

A Boy Named Rabbit: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 2A Boy Named Rabbit: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 2 by Marcia Meara
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A Boy Named Rabbit follows on from Wake-Robin Ridge. It is set in 2013 in the Blue Ridge mountains of North Carolina and focuses around the story of a young boy. This book has paranormal suspense elements.

10 year old Rabbit has lived in the mountains with just his Gran and Grampa for as long as he can remember. They live in a tent most of the year and caves during the winter with no contact with other people, apart from when Grampa goes to get supplies. Gran is ill and Grampa doesn’t return from a supply run. In her last hours Gran makes Rabbit promise to leave the mountain and find a man with black hair and special eyes.

Travelling for two months alone, Rabbit survives until he reaches Wake-Robin Ridge and finds an “Angel house” up on the mountain. These are “Good people” and Rabbit makes a camp near by. It’s Sarah who discovers Rabbit first and makes friends, leaving food and gaining his trust.

Sarah is now pregnant and her caring instincts reach out to Rabbit, but Mac is unsure. Rabbit reminds him too much of his lost son and at first he is cold and unloving to Rabbit. Modern living is a wonder to Rabbit who has only known survival in the mountains and he is delighted by what he learns, but he is also very frightened of people.

They can’t keep Rabbit hidden, the authorities need to be informed and a search for any family must be made, but as Rabbit squeezes further into their hearts each day, the fear of letting him go increases. Rabbit gets strength from is Gran who guides him from beyond the grave and we soon find that he is a very gifted child.

I really enjoyed this book, the authors writing style which I first discovered in her book “Swamp Ghosts” nails this book for me.

Find a copy here from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

View all my reviews on Goodreads

21 thoughts on “A Boy Named Rabbit by @MarciaMeara #Bookreview #Contemporary #Paranormal

      • Hope you’ll enjoy them both, Cathy, and the 2nd book in the Swamp Ghosts (Riverbend) series is out now, too: Finding Hunter. And Rosie, Rabbit is my favorite character, so far. He hasn’t quit talking to me since I woke up thinking about him the very first time. 🙂 You should hear what he has to say as I work on Harbinger, WRR #3. 😉

        Like

    • Yoda says “Do not think, dino0726. Just do.” Okay, Yoda didn’t really say that, exactly. I made it up. I’m a writer. It’s what we do. 😀 Hope you’ll give the books a try one day, and that you’ll enjoy them, as well. Thanks.

      Like

  1. Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, Rosie. It means a lot to me that you’ve enjoyed my books, particularly this one, which features my favorite character, so far. That Rabbit! He and his new friend, Finn, are going to be involved in a real chiller in Harbinger. IF I can ever find time to write again. Real Life has been conspiring against me lately, but I’m working on it. 😀 Thank you again for your kind and supportive words.

    Like

    • Hahaha. My devious plan is working! 🙂 Two series, two books out in each, and the 3rd WRR book by spring. I’m writing like a thing possessed, here! (Hey, I’m OOOOLLLD. Can’t be wasting time! 😉 )

      Like

    • Thank you for spreading the word. Rabbit is my favorite character, and I’m so happy to be working on a new book that features him. He always teaches me something. 🙂

      Like

    • I hope you’ll enjoy Rabbit’s story when you get to it, Ali, but I do want to let you know it will make a lot more sense if you know the reasons behind a lot of things. It’s No. 2 in the series, and I would recommend reading the books in order.

      Mac is a very complicated character, and his actions in Rabbit’s tale could be hard to understand without that background. Also, there is an event that occurs in the book that really won’t have the desired effect if you don’t know the full story of the woman who lived in Sarah’s cabin before she did.

      It CAN be read as a stand alone, but a lot of the impact of certain scenes would be lost, I think.

      Either way, thank you for your interest, and I hope you’ll enjoy it. Little Rabbit is very special to me, and I’m having fun writing Book #3, which features him again. I do love those mountains, too, so it’s great to be back in that setting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah ok, I didnt realise that, I knew they were a series but thought they were standalones within it. No problem, I shall start at the beginning! Thanks for letting me know! 😊

        Like

      • The WRR series is one that builds on each book, though I do try to include enough backstory for it to make sense. Still, the impact is greater if read in order, so you understand the players. It focusses on the same main characters.

        My Riverbend series is different. There are characters who move between books, since it’s a small town, and they know each other. But each book is focussed on a different person’s story, and can more easily be read as stand alones. I do like to end each book setting up the next, though, so reading in order is nice. But not as important.

        I do hope you’ll enjoy them, no matter how you read them. And I appreciate your interest!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.