Romancing September #RomancingSeptember – Day 19

rosie1

Welcome to Day 19 of Romancing September Across The World Tour. Today our guest is Nicky Wells. Catch up with more from Nicky in a few hours with the second part of our tour when Stephanie chats to her.

Fallen For Rock by Nicky Wells

Fallen For Rock by Nicky Wells

Where is your home town?

I hail from Essen in Germany, but I’ve been in the UK since 1993 and currently, my home is in Lincoln.

How long have you been writing romance?

I started writing romance when I was expecting my first child. So that would be about nine years ago! I finished my first novel, Sophie’s Turn, with days to spare before the birth, put it in a drawer and left it there for quite some time. After I had published Sophie’s Turn, I began writing the sequel in 2011 and have been writing ever since.

What is your favourite sub-genre of romance?

I love all romance, but comedy is my favourite!

Introduce us to Emily.

Meet Emily Trenden, successful financial analyst at a major city bank. She’s 27, tall, with blue eyes and long blonde hair most often worn in a chignon. She likes opera and haute couture. In fact, there isn’t a pair of jeans in her wardrobe when we first meet her. She’s uptight, professional, and very smart. She is also caring, loving, sometimes funny, and occasionally a little clumsy, although she would be furious if she knew I told you that. The thing she craves most is stability and happiness in her life, in that order.

How does she end up at a rock concert?

Well, now, there’s a story! Her ex-boyfriend Nate loves rock music and is in a band himself. He entered a competition to win backstage tickets to see massive new UK rock band, MonX and, unbelievably, he won. Except he put the tickets in Emily’s name because he loved her so much. Unfortunately, Emily broke up with him before she knew about the tickets, and it’s only when she receives them that she realises how much Nate really cared for her. So she tries to get in touch with him, but she can’t reach him. Or he ignores her messages, she’s not sure which. In the end, she decides to go to the concert in hopes that Nate might turn up there as well—she did leave a stack of messages telling him to meet her at the backstage gates. But he never shows up, and Emily is stuck at the gig on her own.

Where does she end up the day after the concert?

On the tour bus en route to the next gig!!

How does Emily change after her experience?

The first MonX concert is a real eye opener for Emily. Because she has those backstage passes, she gets to see the sound check and final rehearsal, and she has to concede that ‘rock’ isn’t just noise but that there is a lot of skill and talent involved. She overhears Mike belting out an aria and realises that he is, in fact, classically trained. And then she begins to understand what Nate had been telling her all along about the complexity of a good rock song.

The concert sends her reeling in every sense of the word, and it’s almost like she takes a leave of absence of her ordinary life for the night. This, in turn, propels her into Mike’s dressing room where Mike introduces her to a whole new way of… feeling, shall we say. Much to her surprise, Emily rather likes the new ‘her’; over the coming days, she acquires a new wardrobe and haircut and even when she returns to work and has to leave her adventure behind, something has irrevocably changed inside her.

Describe Mike, the rock God, make us drool!

Hot, hot, hot! Mike is tall, and muscular with long brown hair and liquid brown eyes. His voice would give anyone an instant melodious orgasm, especially when he hits the high notes. He has a tattoo on the back of his right arm that fascinates Emily endlessly, although she never summons up the courage to ask him what it is. Mike is funny. He loves women and alcohol, although he overindulges only on the former. Overindulging on the latter is bad for the vocal cords! He can be surprisingly caring, but he’s hell to live with when he writes. He has a way with words too, as evidenced by the many powerful lyrics he produces. And he has ambition. He wants to go all the way to the top (and he’ll make it, too!).

Tell us what you are working on at the moment.

Right now, I’m working on the edits for my Christmas novella, Fairy Tale in New York. And when that’s in the bag, I’m continuing with my next rom com, Seven Years.

Where can readers find out more about you?

Nicky Wells

I’m a little bit here, there, and everywhere. Here are some of the places I like to hang out:

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Amazon | Goodreads | Pinterest

I also host a monthly radio show over on Siren 107.3 FM called BOOKS ROCK. It’s all about books, and I chat with authors and readers alike. Feel free to tune in at 11 am UK time on every third Sunday, or check out the podcasts on www.sirenonline.co.uk anytime you fancy!

Fallen for Rock, Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

Find out more about Nicky from Stephanie Hurt’s blog and all our Romance writers http://stephanie-hurt.com/

24 thoughts on “Romancing September #RomancingSeptember – Day 19

  1. Ohhh. I’m so excited to read about this book! I’m 51 now, but in my 20’s I spent every single penny of my wages going to rock concerts. The louder the better. Motorhead. Metallica. AC/DC. Black Sabbath. Def Leppard. ..ahh.. I could go on forever! Best of luck with your latest release. Caroline xx

    Like

    • Caroline, we must be secret soul sisters! I think you might definitely enjoy this book, and I’d love to get together sometime–virtually, I mean–and talk rock. I’m sure we’d have **a lot** to talk about!! Thanks for visiting and commenting and rock on! X

      Like

  2. Hi Rosie, thanks so much for hosting me today–it’s such fun to be here! Hope everyone enjoys hearing about Fallen for Rock and meeting this here slightly crazy rock chick. 🙂 Keep commenting, ladies (and gents? Any gents out there?), I simply love hearing from you! X

    Like

  3. I enjoyed reading the interview, and the book sounds like it would be a fun read. I do like reading romantic comedies and I look forward in seeing how Emily changes and evolves throughout the book, and it’s just feeling… but I look forward to seeing how Mike changes after meeting Emily as well.

    Like

    • Hiya! Emily definitely goes through quite a change, and I had huge fun writing her story. I really hope you enjoy meeting Emily and Mike and hearing about everything they get up to. Do let me know what you think, I would be intrigued to get your feedback! X

      Like

    • Hi Monica, if it’s a look behind stage you’re after, you’re in the right place with me! I have a thing for the rock industry and I’ve done some serious research in my time… LOL! X Hope you enjoy the book if you do get a chance to pick it up. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.