Rosie’s #Bookreview Of #Fantasy Shifter #Romance The Longing Of Lone Wolves by @lana_p_author

The Longing of Lone Wolves (Fae Guardians #1)The Longing of Lone Wolves by Lana Pecherczyk

4.5 stars

The Longing of Lone Wolves is a fantasy shifter romance. The setting is more than two thousand years after a nuclear war on our planet. Some humans live in a protected city, while the fae have become the dominant race in various forms.

Clarke—a human woman—wakes in a warm lake surrounded by snow forests; her clothes are rotten, her watch and bangles have rusted. She has little time to comprehend her condition before she is chased and captured by shifter wolves.

Rush has been an outcast after a curse made him invisible. He discovers a rare human in the lake by his shack, but she is soon chased by his uncle’s wolf pack. He follows them and is shocked when she turns to him for help; how can she see him when others can’t? He offers her a pact, he will rescue her if she will be his voice in the world, although he plans to take her to The Order and use her as a prize to break the curse.

Clarke has psychic abilities which get stronger, but this world is very different from the one she left behind, or did she leave it at all? A name and an evil face from the past haunt Clarke and he appears to still be following her.

The book cover appealed to me when I saw it on Instagram, so I thought that I would give it a go after reading the book blurb. I was slightly concerned that this might be high fantasy with a common quest, but I was very happy with how the author told this tale, making a journey just one part of the story rather than drawing it out.

There are lots of fae types, but many are half human and the story sets a good pace with plenty that kept me entertained. It also helped that Clarke and Rush were characters that I liked from the start. There are lots of secondary characters whom I know will go on to have their own books in this series. The opening chapters of book two can be found in the back and having read on I am intrigued enough to want to continue with the next story.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Desc 1

A beauty from our time. A fae beast from the future. A curse only she can break… if he lets her close to his heart.

Rush is a Fae Guardian, a wolf-shifter whose enhanced abilities have made him a ruthless protector of Elphyne. His job is to protect the realm from the human enemy, and to ensure the sins of the past never come to pass again lest magic die forever. Well… it was his job until half a century ago when he allowed one night of weakness to distract him from his job. His punishment was a curse worse than death. Now a ghost, he spends his lonely time longing to be part of the living, once again protecting them from monsters… until one washes up on the shores of his lake.

Clarke is beautiful, feisty, fierce, and she’s the only person who can see him.

If he hands her over to the Order, she’s his ticket to having his curse removed, but the more he learns about this human, the more he realizes maybe she’s not the monster he’s trained to believe. In fact, she’s capable of inciting passion he’d never dreamed possible again, but Clarke has a message from the past… sins are already repeating. This time, if they don’t stop the coming evil, it won’t just be magic that dies. It will be everything.

The Witcher meets Beauty and the Beast in this gripping, heart-stopping new epic fantasy romance featuring a band of brothers, shifters, fae protectors and their strong willed women from our time. If you love your books full of page turning action, intrigue, and romantic tension then this book is for you. For fans of Kristen Ashley’s Fantastical series or Sarah J Maas’s adult fantasy romance.

AmazonUk | AmazonUS

53303848. sy475

Rosie’s #Bookreview Of Epic #Fantasy THE LOST WAR by Justin Lee Anderson @authorjla #TuesdayBookBlog

52284552. sx318 sy475 The Lost War: Eidyn Book One by Justin Lee Anderson

4.5 stars

The Lost War is an epic fantasy tale, and book one of the Eidyn series.

It opens in the country of Eidyn as it recovers from a great war. The evil Mynygogg is currently trapped in Dunn Eidyn castle, while King Janaeus attempts to repair the damage to his kingdom.

Aranok is the king’s envoy and, together with his bodyguard Allandria, he is given a mission to help a deposed queen regain her throne so that she may become a useful ally to the new king, thus helping him create a solid ruling platform.

Following the popular quest trope of this genre, the pair set off with a small band of companions into a land to face magic, demons, Reivers, and the Blackened—violent victims of a wasting plague.

Although this isn’t a genre that I regularly read, I was drawn to this after reading the opening chapter. The author’s style grabbed my attention with a winning opening hook and it had me wanting to know more. I thought the dialogue, often quite coarse, suited the overall tone of the story, and I could easily picture the settings and the characters, which is always a tick in my book.

Aranok is a draoidh, like a wizard, but his skills make some people mistrust him. However, as the king’s envoy, he must be respected, so the two labels cause conflicting responses from folks during their travels.

The author chose to make several of the main female characters warriors. Alliandra, Aranok’s bodyguard, is a brilliant archer. Nirea is a pirate captain and excellent sword fighter, as is Samily, a knight of the notorious White Thorn order. I thought they worked really well.

There was plenty of conflict which kept the story interesting and moving at a good pace and I enjoyed the other story threads which evolved as the band travelled through Eidyn. Looking back there were several scenes which I particularly enjoyed and if I had to choose just one it would be during the ghost town visit at Caer Amon.

Overall a good tale in this genre and if you like any of these fantasy elements: magic, demons, ghosts, zombie types, interesting characters and well -written twisted storylines, then this might be for you.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Book description

The war is over, but something is rotten in the state of Eidyn.

With a ragged peace in place, demons burn farmlands, violent Reivers roam the wilds and plague has spread beyond the Black Meadows. The country is on its knees.

In a society that fears and shuns him, Aranok is the first magically-skilled draoidh to be named King’s Envoy.

Now, charged with restoring an exiled foreign queen to her throne, he leads a group of strangers across the ravaged country. But at every step, a new mystery complicates their mission.

As bodies drop around them, new threats emerge and lies are revealed, can Aranok bring his companions together and uncover the conspiracy that threatens the kingdom?

AmazonUK | AmazonUS

52284552. sx318 sy475