Rosie’s #BookReview Of #YoungAdult #Mythology series BLOOD OF TREES by @WriterRSJ

Blood of TreesBlood of Trees by Rennie St. James

4 stars

Blood Of Trees is book three of the spin-off series of Atlantic Island: Guardian Books which is an expansion of Fred Shernoff’s Atlantic Island trilogy. Written for the young adult market, they feature time travel and a Mayan myth mystery.

This book was my favourite of the three book series, because the conclusive format brought together the threads from the other stories. I felt that I understood more about the Mayan history and myths too. The second story thread about saving the universe was less clear to me and I don’t think I ever really grasped that aspect of the storyline. However, that may have been because I haven’t read the original Atlantic Island stories.

Although this is the end of the trilogy from this author, the main protagonist’s tale will be continued by Fred Shernoff in an Atlantic Island II story.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Book description

Time is running out for Scout Ainsley to save the world…and choose a college.

The artifacts continue to bring new powers. They also bring new enemies. He still has two more to find, but he has few friends left to help him. Trust doesn’t come easily to the former Atlantic Island soldier with memories of war and death still haunting his nights and days.

Scout’s journey isn’t over yet, and a new sacrifice is required. Blood must be spilled.
The question is whether Scout can survive his senior year and become the Guardian or if his past will destroy his future. 

AmazonUK | AmazonUS

55778200. sy475

Rosie’s #Bookreview Of #Young Adult #SciFi PLACE OF FEAR (Atlantic Island: Guardian Book 2) by Rennie St. James

Place of Fear (Atlantic Island: Guardian Book 2)Place of Fear by Rennie St. James

3.5 stars

Place Of Fear is the second book in a fan fiction spin-off series from Fredric Shernoff’s young adult science fiction Atlantic Island stories. I recommend reading them in the order that they are written to gain the most from the series.

In this story Scout and his friends continue their research into the Mayan culture to find historical artefacts which have magical powers. Others seek these powers too and themes of good versus evil and power versus balance are threaded throughout the story. There are lots of mystical elements and the Mayan history interested me the most as I was reading, to the point when I was skip reading much of the mundane everyday parts to get back to the mythical stories.

I have come to this series without reading the original Atlantic Island story so I can’t comment on how this extended tale fits. However, I found the pacing rather slow and it became hard to feel engaged with the characters, which may just be because I am not the intended audience for this genre. The author injects her recognisable style from her Rahki Chronicles into this book, so if you are a fan of those stories then you might enjoy these.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Book description

Scout Ainsley may have discovered two of the Mayan artifacts, but he still doubts his sanity. The search for the remaining relics could cost him his life as well.

The disappearance of a friend reveals new truths and powers. Scout isn’t alone in his search for answers, but he struggles to trust those closest to him. His nightmares reflect his worst experiences and most terrifying fears.

Every path to the future is coated in blood and death. Can he use lies to find the truth? Can he trust others or even himself?

If Scout wants to survive, he’ll have to conquer his fears.

AmazonUK | AmazonUS

54216533. sy475

Rosie’s #Bookreview Team #RBRT #Contemporary #Fiction NOT KNOWING by @donnadechen

Today’s team review is from Karen, she blogs here

#RBRT Review Team

Karen has been reading Not Knowing by Donna Dechen Birdwell


This book focuses on archaeologist Meg Fitzellen, spending her summer at ‘her’ Mayan ruin site in Belize; for her, digging in ancient history is more pleasant than reminders of her own past. Insights and Belizean events still have an influence on her after returning home to Texas.

With “Not Knowing”, Donna Dechen Birdwell has created a nicely developing and intense story about Meg Fitzellen. The story comprises a variety of characters with sufficient depth, interesting turns, archaelogical knowledge, and has a good flow. I was drawn into the story right away, close to Meg and Seth; captivated by what their story had to offer. I had a good time reading “Not Knowing” – also a great source of food for thought.

“Not Knowing” may be categorised ‘Contemporary Women’s Fiction’ – it offers a lot more. I enjoyed the human touch, the dreams, as well as the little mysteries; a story not easily forgotten.

This is for you if you like female protagonists, stories that let you follow along and inspire your own train of thoughts, as well as books you would like to read again.


Book description

When Meg was a little girl, Abuela María predicted she would travel to the moon.

Now she’s an archaeologist digging up Mayan ruins in Belize while trying to keep her own past buried beneath hard work and professional responsibility. It isn’t working. The summer of 2022 seems destined to push all of Meg’s buttons—her deep-seated aversion to marijuana and guns and the unwanted presence of a boy who reminds her of a certain horrific summer in Mexico. Digging deeper only unearths more questions. And then her husband buys a lottery ticket for the first tourist flight to the moon. What Meg doesn’t want to know may yet be her redemption.

AmazonUK | AmazonUS