Rosie’s #Bookreview of #RomanticSuspense Shattered Reflections (McAllister Justice series) by @reily_garrett

Shattered ReflectionsShattered Reflections by Reily Garrett

4 stars

Shattered Reflections is Book Five of the McAllister Justice series of romantic suspense stories.

Young private investigator Katt is hired to find thugs who attacked a man called Denny. However, her gut tells her that he’s hiding vital information, so she seeks the help of her good friend and cop Matt McAllister.

Matt is the oldest brother of a family who all have links to law enforcement. He’s worked with Katt before, and his brothers pass work her way. But ultimately he has an urge to keep her out of trouble as the pair skate around their true feelings for each other.

When Denny’s girlfriend is found dead, Katt’s case turns dangerous and the McAllister family step up to help solve the mystery. But Katt’s independent streak tests their ability to keep her safe.

In a fast-paced tale of industrial espionage, the mix of romance and suspense works well, making this is another good book in the series.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Book description

Strong-willed and stubborn, Kathryn Nugle enters a man’s profession, untested, inexperienced, and determined to solve a decade-old puzzle.

Intuition flagged her client’s deception but didn’t solve the mystery of his jacket’s crimson stain, yet blood doesn’t lie. When the victim leaves damning evidence behind, fate throws Kathryn into a cascade of events that will challenge her survival skills.
Mathew McAllister is the eldest of six siblings, all current or former detectives. Practical jokes and pranks are part and parcel of his daily life. The newest addition to the family fold is a wisecracking hacker who mangles his strained equanimity and tests his patience in Morse code, security breaches, and invasion of his cherished privacy.
When a vicious murder paints a target on one of their own, the McAllisters close ranks to ferret out the twisted intentions of a serial killer. For fans of Sandra Brown and Lee Child, Shattered Reflections is an exciting thriller with a romantic twist.

AmazonUK | AmazonUS

My #BookReview of #RomanticSuspense Bound By Shadows by @reily_garrett

Bound By Shadows (McAllister Justice, #2)Bound By Shadows by Reily Garrett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bound By Shadows is book #2 of the McAllister Justice romantic suspense books.

Kaylee Tate recently moved to Portland. She wakes-up in a cage, finding herself a victim of a kidnapping. The last thing she can remember is sitting in a café. Her head is fuzzy with the drugs she must have been given.

The cage is underground and Kaylee is not alone; another girl urges her to wake-up. Taking her one chance of escape, Kaylee promises she’ll send help as she runs off into a dark tunnel. Realising that she’s in Portland’s famous underground tunnel system, Kaylee hopes her kidnappers won’t find her.

When Kaylee walks into a police station, she meets members of the McAllister family, brothers who are either policemen or are connected to policing. Kaylee is relieved to see these friendly faces that she knew from her school days. It’s Caden who takes Kaylee to hospital while his brothers launch a search and rescue operation for the other girl.

They discover clues of a possible sex trafficking ring, but the girl and the cages are gone and, as a witness, Kaylee is still vulnerable. Whilst protecting Kaylee, Caden faces some of his own fears and the pair find a deep mutual bond. The tension builds through-out the story to an exciting and satisfying ending.

I enjoyed the mix of suspense and romance. Characters from book #1 return and the cameraderie and banter between the McAllister brothers was fun. I will look forward to further adventures and romance from more books in the series.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Book description

The architect of fear employs many forms.

Kidnapping and murder never crossed Kaylee’s mind when seeking a fresh start in Portland, a new beginning to shed the remnants of tragedy dogging her steps. After escaping from an underground cage, she fights to stay one step ahead of the killer bent on silencing his only witness. Kaylee.
Two months after dodging a sociopathic murderer’s best efforts, Caden McAllister flounders within a social sink hole, unable to move forward, too stubborn to step back. Guarded and wary, the private investigator’s stagnant lifestyle detonates into chaos when a battered and bloody young waif stumbles into his care.
Framed for a murdering a past lover, Caden must clear his name and overcome his charge’s doubts while keeping her out of the sex-slave trade. When betrayal ends with Kaylee’s re-capture, Caden must conquer his past and risk all or lose the one he has come to love.
Murder, mystery, underground tunnels, and romance are intertwined in this standalone romantic thriller, the second installment of the McAllister Justice Series.

About the author

Though her kids are her life, writing is the life after. You know, the one you also enjoy…AFTER the kids are in bed or AFTER they’re in school and the house is quiet. This is the time she kicks back with laptop and lapdog to give her imagination free reign.
In life, hobbies can come and go according to our physical abilities, but you can always enjoy a good book. Life isn’t perfect, but our imaginations can be. Relax, whether it’s in front of a fire or in your own personal dungeon. Take pleasure in a mental pause as you root for your favorite hero/heroine and bask in their accomplishments, then share your opinions of them over a coffee with your best friend (even if he’s four legged). Life is short, cherish your time.

Goodreads | AmazonUK | AmazonUS | Twitter