📚Final Story Of This #Fantasy Adventure Series. Rosie’s #Bookreview of Zanshin by @WriterRSJ #Myths #SpiritualAnimals

ZanshinZanshin by Rennie St. James
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Zanshin is book six and the final story of the fantasy adventure tales in the Rahki Chronicles.

These stories feature a band of people who have links to tribal and spiritual animal elements, in various settings in modern-day America.

Mia is the leader of her tribe that investigates the death of an old friend, which leads them to the myth of a Ghost Cat. A revolution in their society is threatening all the tribes, but Mia and her team guard against attacks while following clues. Magic and fantasy are mixed with tribal stories and traditions. They travel to Utah and then to Mexico following the legends surrounding the Ghost Cat.

I began my journey with this series almost four years ago; the stories have been thoughtful and are different from many others which involve Native American themes. There is a martial arts sub-theme as well as animals and their spirits which different members associate with.

This is a steady series which is best read from book one, so that the reader can understand the world and how the story develops. However, if you have an interest in myths and animal spirits then do give it a try.

Read my review of book #1 of the series here.

View all my reviews  on Goodreads

Orange rose book description
Book description

Life hasn’t been all chocolate and rainbows since Mia Rayner reclaimed her warrior heritage.

Her clan did survive the latest battle, but a revolution now looms on the horizon. A friend’s murder will reveal an old enemy hiding in the darkness and even Nadya’s faith will be shaken by ghosts of the past.

Mia must find the strength to stand alone even if it means breaking the bonds of family.

Can any hope remain for the Kiaranast Tribe after love is sacrificed and blood is spilled?

AmazonUK | AmazonUS

Rosie’s #BookReview Of #YoungAdult #Mythology series BLOOD OF TREES by @WriterRSJ

Blood of TreesBlood of Trees by Rennie St. James

4 stars

Blood Of Trees is book three of the spin-off series of Atlantic Island: Guardian Books which is an expansion of Fred Shernoff’s Atlantic Island trilogy. Written for the young adult market, they feature time travel and a Mayan myth mystery.

This book was my favourite of the three book series, because the conclusive format brought together the threads from the other stories. I felt that I understood more about the Mayan history and myths too. The second story thread about saving the universe was less clear to me and I don’t think I ever really grasped that aspect of the storyline. However, that may have been because I haven’t read the original Atlantic Island stories.

Although this is the end of the trilogy from this author, the main protagonist’s tale will be continued by Fred Shernoff in an Atlantic Island II story.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Book description

Time is running out for Scout Ainsley to save the world…and choose a college.

The artifacts continue to bring new powers. They also bring new enemies. He still has two more to find, but he has few friends left to help him. Trust doesn’t come easily to the former Atlantic Island soldier with memories of war and death still haunting his nights and days.

Scout’s journey isn’t over yet, and a new sacrifice is required. Blood must be spilled.
The question is whether Scout can survive his senior year and become the Guardian or if his past will destroy his future. 

AmazonUK | AmazonUS

55778200. sy475

Rosie’s #Bookreview Of #Young Adult #SciFi PLACE OF FEAR (Atlantic Island: Guardian Book 2) by Rennie St. James

Place of Fear (Atlantic Island: Guardian Book 2)Place of Fear by Rennie St. James

3.5 stars

Place Of Fear is the second book in a fan fiction spin-off series from Fredric Shernoff’s young adult science fiction Atlantic Island stories. I recommend reading them in the order that they are written to gain the most from the series.

In this story Scout and his friends continue their research into the Mayan culture to find historical artefacts which have magical powers. Others seek these powers too and themes of good versus evil and power versus balance are threaded throughout the story. There are lots of mystical elements and the Mayan history interested me the most as I was reading, to the point when I was skip reading much of the mundane everyday parts to get back to the mythical stories.

I have come to this series without reading the original Atlantic Island story so I can’t comment on how this extended tale fits. However, I found the pacing rather slow and it became hard to feel engaged with the characters, which may just be because I am not the intended audience for this genre. The author injects her recognisable style from her Rahki Chronicles into this book, so if you are a fan of those stories then you might enjoy these.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Book description

Scout Ainsley may have discovered two of the Mayan artifacts, but he still doubts his sanity. The search for the remaining relics could cost him his life as well.

The disappearance of a friend reveals new truths and powers. Scout isn’t alone in his search for answers, but he struggles to trust those closest to him. His nightmares reflect his worst experiences and most terrifying fears.

Every path to the future is coated in blood and death. Can he use lies to find the truth? Can he trust others or even himself?

If Scout wants to survive, he’ll have to conquer his fears.

AmazonUK | AmazonUS

54216533. sy475