Rosie’s #Bookreview Team #RBRT #Historical #Mystery ROUGH TIME IN NUALA by Harriet Steel

Today’s team review is from Joanne.

#RBRT Review Team

Joanne has been reading Rough Time In Nuala by Harriet Steel.

48401416. sy475

3*

This is the seventh book in the popular Inspector de Silva series and will no doubt please fans.  Set in Sri Lanka, formerly Ceylon, in the colonial era the good inspector investigates the brutal murder of a local businessman on the golf course.

Having not read the previous books I was not familiar with the characters but the book works as a stand alone.  It was enjoyable enough, a pleasant undemanding read In the Agatha Christie mould.  Fans of Barbara Nadel and Abir Mukherjee may be disappointed as this lacks their insight into Istanbul and Calcutta respectively and, with the possible exception of de Silva, the characters are rather one dimensional and the plot is not complex.

I would have liked more on the tension between de Silva and his colonial masters and an insight into life in Ceylon, beyond the stereotypical golf club politics.

Book description

Inspector de Silva’s peaceful evening is disrupted when he is called up to the Royal Nuala Golf Club where a wealthy member has been found brutally murdered.

Is this a bungled robbery, a private feud, or does the killer have another motive that will cause them to strike again?

With the help of his resourceful wife, Jane, and a new and unexpected ally, de Silva must navigate his way into the heart of the privileged British establishment to find the answer, and there’s no time to lose.

Rough Time in Nuala is another colourful and exciting mystery in this series set in the exotic location of 1930s Ceylon.

AmazonUK | AmazonUS

48401416. sy475