2017 Kindness Challenge #RevOfKindness Week #2 Self-Compassion @NikiMeadowsWA

The 2017 Kindness challenge has been created by Niki Meadows

Week #2 is all about Self Compassion

What is Self Compassion?

Selfcompassion is extending compassion to one’s self in instances of perceived inadequacy, failure, or general suffering.

Kristin Neff has defined selfcompassion as being composed of three main components – self-kindness, common humanity, and mindfulness. I read more about her 8 step programme here.

I also checked out these strategies for self-compassion from tinybuddah.com

Self-Compassion Exercise-from Niki.

This week, pay attention to the way you treat yourself and the things you say to yourself both spoken and unspoken. Write down the words you say, the phrases that cross your mind, the way you react, and how you respond to yourself. Notice what your default reaction is when you struggle, make a mistake, or fall short. Notice what areas in life your default isn’t set to self-compassion. Find ways to be more compassionate with yourself. How would you treat a loved one in that situation? How can you bring last week’s focus of self-love into this situation? Be gentle with yourself this week. That means not being hard on yourself and releasing judgment attached to the things you’ll become more aware of as you pay attention to them this week. The first step to extending self-compassion is realizing where there’s room for it. The next step is to practice applying it.

If this is something you want to dig a little deeper into, you might want to give this exercise a try. We all have a tape that plays in our heads, but at some point, the voice on that tape came from somewhere outside of us. I want to gently encourage you to identify the inner voice that challenges you the most. How far back does this tape go? Where did that voice originate from? Is that tape helpful? At some point, that voice stops coming from someone else and continues to speak as our own inner voice. How much of what you say today is attributed to that voice? Are you willing to get rid of that old tape? I encourage you to record yourself saying 10 things about yourself that support and encourage you specifically around the topic of that old tape. If you struggle with this, sometimes the best way to move forward is by listing the opposite of what the old tape says. Listen to the recording you made before you go to bed at night and when you wake up in the morning.

How have I been implementing this into my life?

This week I have tried to listen to my self talk. I have become aware of what I say which is a good first step.

I’ve also “listened” to what I say and write (in e-mails) to others and my thoughts about what they say.

So much of our communication today is via social media’s written word, we tend to rely on our own perception of the meaning and tone of the words, rather than seeing someone speak to you where you have facial expressions and their voice to show you the feelings behind the words, which makes a big difference.

How many of us have been really upset by someone someone wrote to us or about us and have spent the rest of the day dwelling on it? Reading it over and over and taking away a great deal of pain from it? It can lead to self-doubt and spiral downwards. This is where we need to stop and apply the self compassion.

This week the words I carry with me to help are: Compassion, reflect, calm, freedom

Now I want to link a book to this week’s challenge. I have just read The One Memory Of Flora Banks by Emily Barr. My full review can be found on the blog tomorrow. In short Flora is a girl who faces multiple challenges on a daily basis at times she is filled with doubt and feels inadequate, but underneath there is a spark waiting to ignite. Flora’s words to inspire you are:

BE BRAVE!

30849412

The challenge is run by Niki Meadows check out her blog here

#HotNews We’ve been nominated for a Best Book Blogger in the 2017 BloggersBash awards and we need your votes. Please vote here (Best Book Blogger)

Thank you.

http://sachablack.co.uk/2017/05/18/2017-annual-bloggers-bash-awards-voting-open-bloggersbash-bloggersbash/

 

5 thoughts on “2017 Kindness Challenge #RevOfKindness Week #2 Self-Compassion @NikiMeadowsWA

  1. I love all of the processing and implementation going on! It’s true that tone has been lost in the digital age. The mood we’re in when we read something can greatly impact the tone in which we perceive it was written in. A lot of times, if I’m unsure of the tone (maybe I don’t know the person well or I’m just unsure of the tone they wrote in) I’ll put on some music. I’ll read it to something gloomy and moody, something classical, and to something upbeat. After reading it in three different tones, I can usually identify if it was my own feelings that clouded the perspective in which I received the message. If I’m still in doubt, I’ll leave it and come back to it at a later time.

    Congratulations on your nomination for the Blogger’s Bash Award by the way ❤

    Thanks for sharing your experience of this week's challenge. Have a wonderful rest of the weekend and beautiful start to a fresh week ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that you mentioned the impact around using the internet to communicate. You are so correct. The “fall out” regarding unhealthy self talk can be problematic.

    Like

Comments are closed.