Rosie’s #Bookreview Team #RBRT BEDSIT THREE by @sallyjenkinsuk #Thriller #SundayBlogShare

Today’s second team review is from Judith W, she blogs at https://readandreview2016.wordpress.com/

#RBRT Review Team

Judith has been reading Bedsit Three by Sally Jenkins

27390595

BEDSIT THREE: A TALE OF MURDER, MYSTERY AND LOVE by SALLY JENKINS

  • Title: Bedsit Three: A Tale of Murder, Mystery and Love
  • Published: 2015
  • Author: Sally Jenkins
  • Started: Sunday 4th September 2016
  • Finished: Wednesday 14th September 2016

Bedsit Three focuses on the lives of the tenants of Vesey Villa, a collection of bedsits.  There is a new tenant in Bedsit Three, Ian, after the old tenants – Ignatius Smith and his girlfriend – suddenly vanish from the town. Ian wants to prove himself as a father to his son, Marcus, and finds solace in his neighbour Sandra, and her daughter Halifax. However, the tenants find themselves embroiled in a murder mystery case when it is revealed that neither Ignatius or his girlfriend have been seen for a very long time…

I found Bedsit Three very engrossing and easy to read, which I think is important for books in the mystery and thriller genres.

The prologue was really well-written; this was a pleasant surprise for me, as I am notorious for skipping the prologue because they never tend to be quite scruffy and don’t add anything to the plot. However, this does not apply to Jenkin’s book!

I felt the plot flowed at a reasonable pace, although some of Sandra’s scenes at college or Ian’s scenes with Jo felt somewhat of a side-track. My favourite parts of Bedsit Three were the first person narration scenes with Ignatius – you could really see inside his head, and understand his mental process. In addition, with a name like Ignatius, it’s immediately clear that he’s going to be a creepy character.

Speaking of names, I didn’t like the names Ignatius or Halifax – I know they were meant to be original and had special meanings, but I still just thought they were very weird – especially in contrast to more mundane character names like Ian.

My only concerns with Bedsit Three are the title and the use of description.

I think the title is too long (Bedsit Three would more than suffice), and at times the description of mundane items or events was far too detailed. For example, something as ordinary as a cup of tea might be described as ‘a warm, ceramic mug of delicious brown tea’, which doesn’t sound very genuine.

All in all, the plot was dramatic, the climax was dramatic and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.

Star Rating: 4/5 Stars

Bedsit Three is available to buy as an e-book or paperback from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com.

11 thoughts on “Rosie’s #Bookreview Team #RBRT BEDSIT THREE by @sallyjenkinsuk #Thriller #SundayBlogShare

  1. Took me a few reads to understand this, Judith…. Bedsit Three IS the title! ‘Be prepared for a sleepless night’ is the tagline, as if often seen on book covers. You can see this by the quotation marks, aside from anything else. Maybe it confused you because it’s at the top?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Terry, I was not referring to the tag line about a sleepless night, but this: “A Tale of Murder, Mystery and Love” after the title “Bedsit Three”. That is the title as listed on Amazon & Goodreads, which was confusing because it didn’t match the tag line on the cover but nor does it seem like a proper title.

      Liked by 1 person

      • This title mix up is my fault. I put ‘tale of murder, mystery & love’ in the subtitle box on Amazon KDP because I wanted readers to instantly see what type of book it is when looking down a list of books on the screen. I’d seen this done several times on Amazon by other authors. So it was a ploy on my part to attract readers. But it’s obviously backfired!
        Thanks for the feedback.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I see – if you look at the bestsellers, these days, though, you’ll see that this is a common practice on Amazon that has just become popular – putting an extra description of the book after the colon. Lots of the bestselling thrillers say things like ‘the thriller with the twist you will NEVER guess’ and stuff like that. Have a look at the Amazon top 100 and you’ll see what I mean. It’s just another way of advertising the book and getting the read to click and have a look, but it’s not a part of the title.

        Sorry for the misunderstanding, and I hope that explains what’s been done here!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sally, I don’t think it’s backfired generally, it’s something that a lot of writers are doing since all the ‘grip lit’ bestsellers started it – well, it works for them! I’ve done it once; my book Bestseller says ‘A tale of three writers’ or something. I think it’s probably about 75-25 – some people like it, some think it’s a bit of a hard sell, I don’t know!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The mention of the long title – is this not a marketing strategy to benefit searches? I notice it a lot on self-published works. Instead of bedsit being the main keyword, the longer title will be picked up with murder, mystery and love. I just raise this as a query, not for or against. Liked the review.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.