Rosie’s #BookReview Team #RBRT THE FLOWER SELLER by @EllieHWriter #Romance #wwwblogs

Today’s team review is from Judith, she blogs at http://judithbarrowblog.com/

Rosie's Book Review team 1

Judith has been reading The Flower Seller by Ellie Holmes

30239458

My Review:

When I read the blurb  I thought the would be an easy romance to read. It was, but it isn’t only a romance; there are many twists to this story and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Ellie Holmes has a lovely writing style that blends in the romance of the book with the darker side of the characters

All the characters  were well drawn into believable  rounded characters.

The story is told mostly from the perspective of Jessie Martin, the protagonist, in first person point of view. There are other perspectives; William, sometimes the omniscient narrator but these often came into the middle of the point of view of the protagonist (what an author friend of mine call ” Head Hopping”)  and it interrupted the flow of the narrative.

The dialogue is well written and easily differentiates the characters.

There are some wonderful descriptions of the settings which give a real sense of place of the market town of Abbeyleigh and the  close-knit community. And the dynamics of the lawyers’ firm that Jessie works for, and the cut and thrust of the business was interestin to read

The plot is almost given away by the blurb. I would have much preferred to have known less to begin with.

I have to say I found the title a bit…er… twee, Considering the content.

And I’m sorry but it really think that blurb is too long and actually doesn’t do the book any favours. Needs to be more ambiguous,

And the types of people? !the  skimmers, the bottom dwellers and the ones who dive for pearls.”? this classification would have put me off if I was a reader casually looking for a Romance to read.  But, there again, this  is probably just me.

Ultimately I have to say again, I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to readers who like Romance with a touch of darkness to it.

Buying Links:

Amazon.co.uk:

http://amzn.to/1UfteDz

 Amazon.com:

http://amzn.to/22w8k9H

 

8 thoughts on “Rosie’s #BookReview Team #RBRT THE FLOWER SELLER by @EllieHWriter #Romance #wwwblogs

  1. What a good idea, giving advice to the author about the whole presentation. So many romance books have blurbs that give away the plot; that isn’t a blurb, it’s a synopsis.

    From the author friend who calls it ‘head hopping’!!!! 🙂 Yeah, puts me off too, as you know. I’d question an editor who didn’t draw a red line through it….!

    It’s good that you enjoyed it so much despite your misgivings 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Terry. It’s a good read. And I was a little bothered that I’d pronounced on the blurb, but as it didn’t detract from the author’s writing , I thought it a fair comment. My author friend often to attention to writerly things that I find useful.

      Like

  2. All in all, a very nice review, Judith. Didn’t read the blurb, but from your review, I’d say the novel still held a few surprises. Also, the colors on the cover are lovely…

    Pinned & shared.

    Like

Comments are closed.