Rosie’s #BookReview Team #RBRT DEATH BY DIDGERIDOO by Barbara Venkataraman #Mystery

Today’s Team Review is from Judith, she blogs here http://judithbarrowblog.com/

Rosie's Book Review team 1

Judith has been reading Death by Didgeridoo by Barbara Venkataraman

21899943

My Review:

This is a short, straight-forward murder mystery; easy to read. Overall, it is well written and the pace is steady. The characters are well portrayed  (and unusual!) within the action of the book but I would have liked more character development; to know their backgrounds and have more insight to their personalities.  I liked the way the  protagonist, Jamie Quinn, is  shown with her dark humorous outlook on life but I never really felt I understood the character and struggled to have any empathy with her. .

Most of the dialogue  helped  towards revealing, to round out the characters as the plot progressed but sometimes it seemed a little contrived, too ‘quick-fired humour’ if you know what I mean; striving too hard to funny to sound realistic. And I didn’t think the text conversations worked too well. But the latter is probably me, I’m not  (as I’ve often been told!) into text speak.

I’m a reader who loves settings; descriptions, however simple, however short, that give a sense of place. And in Death by Didgeridoo there are few of these for me to place the characters in the world they move around in. And I found that disappointing.

It’s difficult when reading to review. If I’d picked this book up as something to entertain me for a short while, I would say that this first book  of the Jamie Quinn series is a good read; it does the job. Much in the way a short story is enough. Death by Didgeridoo is fun. But I felt there could be so much more to the characters and the plot. I think I will need to read the next two to see how the protagonist develops.

So, would I recommend it? Well, for those readers who are looking for something a little different; fast action, quirky characters, humour, I would. And I would give the others ( The Case of the Killer Divorce, Peril in the Park) a chance.

Buying links here:

Amazon.co.uk:

http://amzn.to/25dURs7

Amazon.com:

http://amzn.to/1RdOzvk

4 thoughts on “Rosie’s #BookReview Team #RBRT DEATH BY DIDGERIDOO by Barbara Venkataraman #Mystery

Comments are closed.