Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading #KidsLit #Bookreview #SundayBlogShare

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency, #1)Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a middle grade / age 9 -13 reading level. The book is set in Alaska and follows the adventures of Kitty Hawk a 19 year old who flies a De Havilland Beaver plane.

Kitty wants to study Hump Back Whales and arranges to fly from her home in Tofina, Western Canada to spend the summer in Alaska. Whilst getting herself and her bearings sorted in Alaska, she reads about a local gold theft in the paper. A few weeks later she spots a suspicious fishing vessel and decides to check things out by herself.

Kidnapped by a group of men, Kitty ends up trekking through wild Alaska walking to the Chilkoot Pass and facing down a bear.

This book is full of life lessons and often I felt like I was in the classroom being taught about history, geography, whales and general ways of mankind. Not always a bad thing but long passages of teaching became boring.

For middle grade readers this is a lengthy book, I think the easy to read writing style would appeal more to the younger age of the bracket, readers who like an adventure. I myself wasn’t keen on the voice of Kitty’s conscience which often became a stream of dialogue, but others will enjoy this concept. In today’s techno-gadget age it’s difficult to know if wilderness adventures are popular with this set of readers.

This review is based on a free copy of the book given to me by the author via Book Publicity Services.

Find a copy here from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

View all my reviews on Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading #KidsLit #Bookreview #SundayBlogShare

  1. What a shame, it’s a subject that fascinates me, I might have wanted to read it myself if you’d liked it more :/

    Like

  2. Hi, Rosie – I’ve read this and also rated it 3, but for different reasons. I had an issue with the protagonist being quite a bit older than the age of the target audience. Nice review!
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal – Impartial, Straightforward Fiction Book Reviews

    Like

Comments are closed.