Rosie’s #BookReview team #RBRT BOB by @TegonMaus #SciFi #TuesdayBookBlog

Today’s team review is from Shelley, she blogs at http://shelleywilsonauthor.com/

Rosie's Book Review team 1

Shelley has been reading Bob by Tegon Maus

23120251

BOB by Tegon Maus

Sci-fi

Rated: 3.5 stars out of 5

 

It’s been quite a few years since I read a sci-fi novel and I was looking forward to getting my extra-terrestrial teeth into reading Tegan Maus’s, BOB. 

 

We are introduced to main character and journalist, Peter Anderson as he is bundled into a car with a large Russian called Bob.  You get a good sense of Peter’s angst at being driven around town at high speed by this unusual character.  Maus opts to write Bob’s dialogue with a Russian accent.  In my head, I was rolling over the speech as if I was a member of the KGB.  After a while, it did start to slow my reading down as I tried to ‘get into character’.  Fortunately, Bob is a fun chap to read about, although he remains a mystery for the most part.  I did begin to chuckle at the ‘Bob have cousin’ line.

 

Any sci-fi fan holds out hope that aliens are real, and Maus uses this to great effect in his book by portraying the other-worldly visitors as ‘human-like’.  Emma is a complex character who finds a place in Peter’s heart, but is this the real thing or just an illusion?

 

The storyline is quite complex but full of action, humour, government conspiracies, and suspense.  I had to re-read a couple of sections as I did get lost occasionally.

 

All in all, Bob was an enjoyable read.

 

I received an copy of BOB in exchange for an honest review via Rosie’s Book Review Team #RBRT and rated it 3.5 stars.

Find a copy here from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

One thought on “Rosie’s #BookReview team #RBRT BOB by @TegonMaus #SciFi #TuesdayBookBlog

Comments are closed.