Rosie’s #Bookreview Team #RBRT GUARDIANS OF THE SKY by @ShelleyWilson72 #Fantasy

Today’s second team review is from Teri, she blogs at http://teripolen.com/

Rosie's Book Review team 1

Teri has been reading Guardians of the Sky by Shelley Wilson

28690615

My review:  4 stars

I seem to be on a roll lately of reading the second book in a series without having read the first; however, in Guardians, the author gives details from the first book, which was an enormous help.

This story made me think of fairy tales – witches, dragons, faeries, queens, princes, castles, evil stepmothers – and I stress the word evil.  I like the idea of taking a typical teenage girl (except she’s a little more enhanced now) and dropping her into an unfamiliar world where she has to become the hero – and save the guy.  It’s a refreshing change. The author did an excellent job of portraying Amber as a teenager whose biggest desire is to see her family made whole again and the supporting characters were all likable or admirably evil.  Guardians is a fast-paced, quick read with a good amount of action (sword fights, magic, etc.).

Something I missed was the character development for Redka and Connor.  I know Redka is a prince and in love with Amber, but not much else.  I never really understood who Connor is to Amber or his motivations.  Again, I didn’t read the first book, so I’m lacking some background information.

The next book in this series looks to be even more exciting.   Danger is still swirling, a prophecy is brought to light, and Amber has a challenging future ahead of her.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through Rosie’s Book Review Team.

Find a copy here from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

10 thoughts on “Rosie’s #Bookreview Team #RBRT GUARDIANS OF THE SKY by @ShelleyWilson72 #Fantasy

Comments are closed.