MURDER AT THE SGC by Amy Griswold @AmyGriswold #SciFi @StargateNovels #Stargate

Stargate Week

This week I’m bringing you reviews of 7 books linked with the Stargate TV series.

I fell in love with the series back in 1994 when hubby and I were in New York. We decided to go to the movies one afternoon, not having heard of any of the films on offer, we randomly chose the fist original Stargate Movie, when the series eventually aired in the UK we couldn’t wait to watch and I went on to get all the season box-sets and films so that I could watch them over and over.

With companion books to the series now available, I can now indulge in more from my favourite TV characters. I originally bought my first companion books for my hubby, but couldn’t resist reading them myself, even if it did take a year to get through my TBR pile before I could reach them, perhaps the wait was meant to be.

I recently reviewed Sunrise, posting my review and even making a YouTube video about the book which I had enjoyed so much, that when Stargate Novels contacted me about reviewing some more of their books, I jumped at the chance, this week will be a mix of books jumping all around the Stargate Seasons, I hope you enjoy them as much as I did reading them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cast photos and logos courtesy of StargateNovels and MGM

 

Murder at the SGC (Stargate SG-1, #26)Murder at the SGC by Amy Griswold
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Murder At The SGC is a companion book to the Stargate SG-1 TV series and is penned to fall between the TV episodes titled “Insiders” and “Uninvited” in Season 10. Colonel Cameron Mitchell leads SG-1, Vala Mal Doran is currently part of the team and General Landry heads up the SGC with Dr Carolyn Lam in charge of the infirmary.

There is quite a lot going on in this story. Daniel is searching for Sangraal a legendary weapon linked to Camelot and Merlin. A weapon which they might be able to use against the Ori threat.

The team are called back when Dr Vincent Oliver, a civilian archaeologist is found dead. Poisoned from ingesting a toxin on a primitive weapon he was studying. The team have 72 hours to solve the crime before the NID come crawling over the SGC for answers. Investigations reveal that he didn’t get on well with the three other archaeologists that he worked with and suspicions grow when Vala discovers fake Goa’uld artefacts replacing genuine pieces.

The story goes back and forth between the search for Merlin’s weapon and the search for a murderer at the SGC. On two different occasions SG-1 members are chased and attacked by those they suspect are from The Trust, a dangerous power hungry group. It looks like the closer they get to answers, the more nervous The Trust are getting.

The storyline was quite long and drawn out which reflected lower key less memorable TV episodes. The book would benefit from another sweep through editing, on at least 3 occasions key player names were incorrect in the version I was reading. The best character for me was Vala, I felt they author was spot on with her character.

Find a copy here from Stargate Novels Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

View all my reviews on Goodreads

One of the reasons I love Stargate is the great dialogue, here is a quote from Stargate SG-1; Demons

Teal’c: I know of no Goa’uld capable of showing the necessary compassion or benevolence that I’ve read of in your bible.
Jack O’Neill: You read the bible Teal’c?
Teal’c: It is a significant part of your western culture. Have you not read the bible O’Neill?
Jack O’Neill: Oh yeah, yeah… not all of it. Actually I’m listening to it on tape. Don’t tell me how it ends.

All this week we’ve been ending posts with a discussion. Today’s topic is chatting to Teal’c….If you could spend the day with Teal’c what would you like to do or ask?

I’d like him to teach me kel’no’reem

How would you spend your time with Teal’c?

4 thoughts on “MURDER AT THE SGC by Amy Griswold @AmyGriswold #SciFi @StargateNovels #Stargate

  1. Okay, so at this rate, I’m going to have to watch the series for the third time…and read the companion books! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.