HOMECOMING by Jo Graham #SciFi #StargateAtlantis @StargateNovels @JoGrahamWrites #Stargate

Stargate Week

This week I’m bringing you reviews of 7 books linked with the Stargate TV series.

I fell in love with the series back in 1994 when hubby and I were in New York. We decided to go to the movies one afternoon, not having heard of any of the films on offer, we randomly chose the fist original Stargate Movie, when the series eventually aired in the UK we couldn’t wait to watch and I went on to get all the season box-sets and films so that I could watch them over and over.

With companion books to the series now available, I can now indulge in more from my favourite TV characters. I originally bought my first companion books for my hubby, but couldn’t resist reading them myself, even if it did take a year to get through my TBR pile before I could reach them, perhaps the wait was meant to be.

I recently reviewed Sunrise, posting my review and even making a YouTube video about the book which I had enjoyed so much, that when Stargate Novels contacted me about reviewing some more of their books, I jumped at the chance, this week will be a mix of books jumping all around the Stargate Seasons, I hope you enjoy them as much as I did reading them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cast photos and logos courtesy of StartgateNovels and MGM

 

Stargate Atlantis: Homecoming (Stargate Atlantis, #16)Stargate Atlantis: Homecoming by Jo Graham
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Homecoming is a companion book to the TV series Stargate Atlantis #16 of Atlantis storylines, this book takes off where the TV series ended and is the first book in the legacy series.

This book opens with the city of Atlantis being flown back to the Pegasus Galaxy, when they hit a mal-function and have to drop out of hyperspace for repairs on the edge of the Pegasus Galaxy and days from their intended destination.

Then the storyline goes back five months earlier to explain the lead up to this event. Atlantis has been on Earth and at the mercy of politicians from the IOA. Afraid of what new alien attacks might come the politicians don’t want to let Atlantis go, however the team can do more to save Earth if it is back in it’s rightful Galaxy.

It takes General O’Neill’s swift move to get Atlantis under military control to save the situation and they head home. They must then build back relations with trading planets and find out what has been happening in their absence.

The Wraith have been busy, Queen Death is gathering the hives in a new powerful army, the Genii are acting suspicious and many worlds are being destroyed. The Atlantis team promise help against a Wraith cull, after a tip off, but disaster strikes when a key team member is captured and the book ends on a that cliff-hanger.

I really enjoyed learning more about the Wraith, their society and ships and there were lots of good character nuances and dialogue which felt true to the TV characters. The storyline dragged a little with all the political talks back on Earth and the whole book was probably over-long compared to a TV episode, I didn’t think we needed so many domestic issues, they kept us from the real pull of these stories which is the “Saving The World” syndrome.

Find a copy here from Stargate Novels Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

View all my reviews on Goodreads

One of the reasons I love Stargate is  the great dialogue, here is a quote from an episode which also has one of my favourite types of Aliens. Stargate SG-1 The Nox.

Jack O’Neill: The very young do not always do as they’re told.

This week we are ending the posts with a discussion, today it is about Samantha Carter…..If you could ask her to explain any of the scientific technology or events of the TV series which would it be and why?

I would ask about the many alternative realities that can be possible in a timeline.

What scientific question would you ask about?

 

2 thoughts on “HOMECOMING by Jo Graham #SciFi #StargateAtlantis @StargateNovels @JoGrahamWrites #Stargate

Comments are closed.