Rosie’s #BookReview Team #RBRT Raining Embers by @JessicaDall #SundayBlogShare

Today’s team review is from Shelley, she blogs at http://shelleywilsonauthor.com/

Rosie's Book Review team 1

Shelley chose to read and review Raining Embers by Jessica Dall

25784271

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of Raining Embers in exchange for an honest review via Rosie’s Book Review Team #RBRT

The story follows two main characters who come from very different walks of life. Brier lives in luxury in a male domain, but can hold her own and drink most of them under the table, and Palmer is an acolyte living in a small cell, set on finishing his study and leaving Latysia as soon as he can.

Their stories slowly unfold until they are brought together under strange circumstances. Both taken against their will, they wake up in a strange place (that I struggled to pronounce!) and told by their captors that they are the reincarnation of Order and Chaos.

I like Brier for her subtle humour and Palmer for his quietly dependable nature, but my favourite character is Cerise, who is one of the captors. I would have liked to see her personality explored at a deeper level and find out why she is the way she is. I also liked Rosette, the young child who has a few secrets of her own. She is another character that I would like to see developed.

Dall has painstakingly crafted her world and its laws and religion, making this a realistic fantasy land. The battle scenes are well thought out and beautifully crafted with an added twist that could have changed the entire direction of this novel.

I did feel that it started quite slowly, and it took me a while to get into the story, but the reason I gave Raining Embers four stars instead of three was down to the final battle and the gripping conclusion.

Find a copy here from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

