Rosie’s #BookReview Team #RBRT The Viper and the Urchin by @CelineJeanjean #wwwblogs

Today’s team review comes from Jessie, she blogs at http://behindthewillows.com

Rosie's Book Review team 1

Jessie chose to read and review The Viper and the Urchin

25797124

“It was always a pleasure to kill…”

…begins the book as it launches into a long and ominous description of an assassin, The Viper, and the nefarious activity he is on his way to perform. And then he thinks to himself, “Is it really too much to ask that the common dockworker experience a faint malaise in my presence? Obviously.”  and I smiled because, suddenly, the Viper looked like someone I was really going to enjoy!

It turns out that The Viper is a lovable, sarcastic, pompous jerk of a man. “How can that be?” I asked myself.  Those don’t go together and then (in the words of my three year old)…

Oh. My. Gossshhhh.

He’s Eeyore.

Not the sad, dopey, Disney donkey but the true A.A. Milne pompous ass right down to his sarcastic wit. Yes, it’s Eeyore as an assassin and he’s paired with a blackmailing, slip of a street girl. It might sound ridiculous but you need to trust me, the dialog between the two is not something you’re going to want to miss.

Would I recommend it? Yes. I ended the book laughing even as I was dismayed it was over.

Find a copy here from Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

5 thoughts on “Rosie’s #BookReview Team #RBRT The Viper and the Urchin by @CelineJeanjean #wwwblogs

  1. This is the first steampunk novel I’ve read after it was recently highly recommended in a review. I loved it. The characters are wonderful. I won’t say I’m ready to plunge into the world of steampunk but I’ll certainly read Celine’s next book.

    Like

Comments are closed.