The #RBRT Reviewer Profiles – Noelle Granger

Rosie's Book Review team 1

Reviewers on the #RBRT are very busy hard working people who give their time freely, so I thought it was about time readers had the chance to meet them and find out a bit more about them.

NoelleGranger-9_2

Noelle A. Granger lives in Chapel Hill, North Caroline, USA

Noelle’ s team reviews can be found at : http:/saylingaway.wordpress.com

Plus here; Links to book reviews can (occasionally, when I think about it) be found on my Facebook pages: Noelle A. Granger and The Rhe Brewster Mystery Series

Noelle enjoys; mysteries, of course, but also historical fiction, sci-fi, biographies, along with the occasional chick lit.

When reviewing for the team, Noelle prefers to buy the books. Noelle says; “Authors need the income, and I feel no obligation at the outset when reviewing.”

Hobbies & Interests;  are swimming, knitting, cooking, and flying in small planes (I am not a pilot, though). I am a great aficionado of the sport of lacrosse and have season tickets for both football and basketball at the University of North Carolina. Go Tar Heels! I am also a gourmand, and as a result, am constantly trying to lose weight by working out in a gym when my pool is closed in the winter. Last but not least, with my son in Germany and my daughter in LA, plus the needed research for my book, my husband and I travel!

We have two pets, down from probably 15 at one time: a Garfield-size, orange and    indulged cat, Elijah Moon, and a very active (even at 15), mostly Jack Russell terrier, (She’s No) Angel.

Reading Soft edge

I asked, “What new genres have you tried from the review team list?”

I think I’ve tried quite a few genres from the review team list, which has been a great growing experience.

“What genres make you step out of your comfort zone?”

Fantasy – with vampires, werewolves, wizards, and other strange and evil beings – takes me out of my comfort zone. I am a huge fan of Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and J. K. Rowling, so perhaps fantasy with a strong moral overtone attracts me.

“What do you look for in a book?”

For me, a book must have a strong plot with well-limned characters, ones to which I can relate. Huge information dumps without dialog give me wrinkles and I want to hear the dialog running fluidly in my mind.

“Book Styles you don’t enjoy?”

All in all, there is probably no book style I don’t or can’t enjoy. Considering I read cereal boxes when I was little, I like pretty much everything from shorts to series to sagas.

“Do you read & review Non-Fiction?”

I do read non-fiction, although I don’t believe I’ve ever reviewed a non-fiction book. My favorites are biographies of people who played larger-than-life roles in history. I love to learn about them, what makes them tick, what life was like at the time: Churchill, Truman, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Abigail Adams, the Wright Brothers, and of course, the Tudors and the Medici, to name just a very few.

8 thoughts on “The #RBRT Reviewer Profiles – Noelle Granger

  1. I liked this, Noelle – good to read more about you. Big applause for the buying of the book – every sale affects the Amazon visibility :).

    Like

  2. Hi Noelle, nice to meet you! I love how you buy the books to support authors and I enjoyed reading about your hobby and interests. Good for you that your son lives in Germany and daughter in LA! Two great places to visit.😊

    Like

  3. Hi Noelle: Great to learn a bit more about you. And love your take on books. I also used to read everything (cereals weren’t the thing in Spain when I was a child, but I’d read anything that was around….).

    Like

  4. Okay, we both read cereal boxes and we love animals. You’re accepting of different book/writing styles. I’d say we have a lot in common! Nice to meet you, Noelle. 🙂

    Like

  5. Congratulations on being featured here on Rosie’s fine blog. I love reading reviews written by authors. They bring a different perspective to the writing craft. Noelle brings her skills to her reviewing. I always like them.

    Like

Comments are closed.